+444 000 444

The History of Yorkshire and Its Boundaries

Yorkshire is the largest county in England. Due to its size Yorkshire is divided up unto four regions, North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire and the East Riding of Yorkshire. There are several major conurbations, yet it is one of the country’s greenest counties. The emblem of Yorkshire is the white rose and the county’s fiercest rivals are Lancashire, whose emblem is the red rose. [caption id="attachment_10" align="alignright" width="287"] A portrait of a Lancashire v Yorkshire Rugby roses match from the 19th century[/caption] Any sporting contests between the two are known as the battle of the roses and they are...

Read More ›