+444 000 444

The Cities and Towns of Yorkshire – Part 1

The last UK census in 2011 showed that Yorkshire had a population of 5.3 million people. Leeds was the third largest city in the United Kingdom with a population of 720,000 people and was followed by Sheffield in 5thand Bradford in 6th. For many years the centre of urban life in the county was York and for a time during the Roman Period, it even held joint status as the capital of the country. During the civil war in 1664 York was besieged and the city was damaged. After the removal of the garrison in 1668 York lost its pre-eminence...

Read More ›

The Physical Geography of the County and Its Natural Areas

Yorkshire is located in the far north of England. It is situated above the Humber estuary and goes as far north as the river Tees. Its eastern boundary is the North Sea and on the western side the Pennine Hills separates Yorkshire from Lancashire. Other counties that share boundaries with Yorkshire include Durham, Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire and Lincolnshire and Cheshire. Of all of the counties in England Yorkshire has the 4th highest point which is Whernside which is found in the North of the county, in the Yorkshire Dales. [caption id="attachment_16" align="alignright" width="273"] Cotter Force Waterfalls in the Yorkshire Dales[/caption] The...

Read More ›

The History of Yorkshire and Its Boundaries

Yorkshire is the largest county in England. Due to its size Yorkshire is divided up unto four regions, North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire and the East Riding of Yorkshire. There are several major conurbations, yet it is one of the country’s greenest counties. The emblem of Yorkshire is the white rose and the county’s fiercest rivals are Lancashire, whose emblem is the red rose. [caption id="attachment_10" align="alignright" width="287"] A portrait of a Lancashire v Yorkshire Rugby roses match from the 19th century[/caption] Any sporting contests between the two are known as the battle of the roses and they are...

Read More ›